Is grand marnier brandy?

Brandy is the generic name of liquor made by distilling wine. Grand Marnier is an orange-flavored French liqueur made from a blend of Cognac brandy, essence of bitter orange and sugar. So while not exactly straight brandy, it is an orange flavoured, sweetened, blended cognac brandy.