When was newfoundland discovered?

John Cabot, an explorer landed on what we now call Newfoundland in 1497. Newfoundland became a Canadian province in 1949. Part of the agreement to join included the province would have it's own time zone. It is 30 minutes ahead of Atlantic Time. 1 pm in Nova Scotia it is 1:30 in Newfoundland .