What's the difference between balsamic vinegar and regular vinegar?

The difference between balsamic vinegar and regular vinegar is in how they are made. Balsamic vinegar is made from the concentrated juice of white Trebbiano grapes. Regular white vinegar is usually made from fermenting alcohol with distilled water.