Is portland oregon known as stumptown?

Stumptown is a nickname for Portland, Oregon. According to The Oregonian daily newspaper, the term “Stumptown” emerged around the mid-1800s when the city experienced a period of rapid growth. Land had to be cleared of trees so humans could live there, leaving many tree stumps, hence the name.