How long does the sun stay out?

The length of time that the sun is visible in the sky varies depending on the location, time of year, and latitude. At the equator, the sun rises and sets nearly every day, with 12 hours of daylight and 12 hours of darkness. Towards the poles, it might be 24 hours of daylight or darkness.