What is the deepest hole on earth?

The deepest hole by far is 1 on the Kola Peninsula in Russia near Murmansk, referred to as the "Kola well." It was drilled for research purposes beginning in 1970. Microscopic plankton fossils were found 6 kilometers (4 mi) below the surface.