What's the difference between steel cut oats and regular oats?

Steel cut oats have a coarser, chewier texture and nuttier flavor than rolled or quick oats. They also take longer to prepare, with average cooking times varying 15–30 minutes. However, you can soak steel-cut oats beforehand to reduce the cooking time.