Did pope benedict the sixteenth resign?

Benedict, a German theologian who was pope for eight years, shocked the world when he announced that he would retire Feb. 28, 2013, becoming the first pope in 600 years to step down. Benedict said at the time he simply didn't have the strength to fulfil the globe-trotting rigors of the job.