Why is it called a rubber match?

According to english-grammar-lessons.com. “Rubber match” is a saying dating to the 1600s when a favorite sport was lawn bowls. A rubber match refers to the act of two lawn bowls rubbing against each other in competition to reach the jack. If the balls did rub together, it eliminated the other team.