How do i know if i'm having contractions?

My first response to this is trust me, you'll know. The amniotic sac might rupture and you'll expel a considerable amount of fluid commonly known as "my water broke". When you're in true labor, your contractions last about 30-70 sec & come about 5-10 mins apart.