Why is blue called blue?

Etymology and linguistic differences. The modern English word blue comes from Middle English bleu or blewe, from the Old French bleu, a word of Germanic origin, related to the Old High German word blao (meaning shimmering, lustrous). In heraldry, the word azure is used for blue.