Is the word the a conjunction?

The word "the" is a preposition, not a conjunction. A conjunction is used to join two phrases. Conjunctions are, for example, "and", "or", and "but". A preposition is a word governing, usually preceding, a noun or pronoun and expressing a relation to another word or element in the clause.