What is the definition of whoa?

whoa exclamation 1. used to express surprise, interest, or alarm, or to command attention. "whoa, that's huge!" 2. used as a command to a horse to make it stop or slow down, or to urge a person to stop or wait. "whoa, hold on a minute, Fred!"