What do shrimp eat?

Shrimp are scavengers and eat a huge variety of foods as they travel along their native waterways. A shrimp will eat anything that doesn’t eat it first. Including, but not limited to, algae, other dead shrimp, left over fish food, living plants, and any decaying organic matter.