Why is it called shampoo?

The word is derived from the Hindi word chhampo, which means press - to shampoo someone was to massage them. Shampooing was part of the Turkish bath ritual and its meaning evolved to become part of the cleansing process. To shampoo the hair was to cleanse and massage the scalp.