What is the closest state to canada?

The US border with Canada is very long. Thirteen American states form the Canada-US land border and west to east these are Alaska, Washington, Idaho, Montana, North Dakota, Minnesota, Michigan, Ohio, Pennsylvania, New York, Vermont, New Hampshire, and Maine.