What does natural release mean on an instant pot?

It means to let the pressure release over time, not to open the pressure valve. A natural release may take up to half an hour. When specified in a recipe, it means the time you let the instant pot sit undisturbed when the cook time is up, once the natural release time is up, open the valve.