What was the greek empire?

There were two empires called Greek. One was established by Alexander of Macedon in the fourth century B.C.E. The other was the eastern remnants of the Roman Empire known today as the Byzantine Empire, with its capital in Constantinople. It lasted from the sixth to the fifteenth century.