How much water do you put with rice?

Most rice cooked with 2 parts water to 1 part rice. Add the rice to cold water, heat to a boil, cover the pot with a lid, reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes. Minute rice or instant rice is not the same, it takes less water and is done faster.