Is the atlantic ocean bigger than the pacific?

Covering approximately 20 percent of the Earth's surface, the Atlantic Ocean is the second largest ocean basin in the world, following only the Pacific. The Atlantic Ocean is only slightly larger than half the size of the Pacific Ocean.