Who is general palpatine?

Palpatine was a senator from Naboo, who secretly was a Sith lord named Darth Sidious. Over the course of the movies, he became Supreme Chancellor of the Galactic Senate, and ultimately formed and ruled over the Galactic Empire as Emperor until his death when the second Death Star was destroyed.