When do bears hibernate?

Bears hibernate during the winter months in most areas of the world. Duration of winter denning is dependent upon latitude, and varies from a few days or weeks for black bears in Mexico, to 6 months or more for bears in Alaska.

---

Bears hibernate during winter, but aren't sleeping the whole time.