What is the definition of luke?

Luke is an English form of the Latin Lucas, from the Greek name Loukas meaning "from Lucania," referring to the region in southern Italy. Origin: Luke from the Bible, a physician who was a disciple of St. Paul, was called Lukas in Greek. Gender: Luke is traditionally the masculine form of the name.