What's the biggest asteroid in the asteroid belt?

The biggest asteroid in the asteroid belt is Ceres, which is also classified as a dwarf planet. It has a diameter of about 590 miles (940 kilometers) and accounts for about 30% of the total mass of the asteroid belt. Ceres was discovered in 1801 by Italian astronomer Giuseppe Piazzi.