How many points does a blank tile in scrabble represent?

A blank tile in the word game of Scrabble represents zero points; however, it is like a wild card and can be any letter you choose; so, when using it wisely can actually score you more points than without the blank tile by being able to use a longer word or by touching a bonus square.