Do jellyfish sting?

Jellyfish don't go after humans, but someone who swims up against or touches one — or even steps on a dead one — can be stung all the same. While jellyfish stings are painful, most are not emergencies.

---

Yes, many species of jellyfish have stinging cells, called nematocysts, on their tentacles which they use to capture prey and defend themselves against predators. The severity of the sting can vary depending on the species of jellyfish and the sensitivity of the person stung.