How long does it take for a tree to grow?

Tree species near the equator might grow several meters per year, while those in the northern parts of Canada and Europe might only grow a meter or two per year. So, depending on the tree, it might take 10-20 years for one growing in a sunny area to reach maturity or 30-40 years in the cold.