Is there such thing as a pickle tree?

They do on Guam! The Pickle Tree (a.k.a. averrhoa bilimbi), with its delicate oval leaves, produces very small pickle-like fruits that grow directly on the trunk and branches. Before it puts on fruit, red flowers bloom