Who were the cats and jammer kids?

The Katzenjammer Kids is a comic strip created by Rudolph Dirks. It featured twins Hans and Fritz who liked to rebel against authority. The strip first appeared in 1897 in the American Humorist and was later turned into several short cartoons.