Are whiskey and scotch the same thing?

No, whiskey and scotch are not the same things, but they are related. Whiskey is a distilled alcoholic beverage that is made from grains. Scotch is a type of whiskey that is made in Scotland, using malted barley and water. In other words, scotch is a type of whiskey, but not all whiskey is scotch.