Did elvis go to war?

Elvis Presley entered the United States Army on March 24, 1958, and then spent three days at the Fort Chaffee, Arkansas, Reception Station. Presley's overseas service took place in Germany from October 1, 1958, until March 2, 1960, as a member of the 1st Medium Tank Battalion, 32nd Armor.