Why are potatoes sometimes green?

Potatoes will often go green when they're not stored properly and they're exposed to light. This is due to formation of chlorophyll, however the green colour is a useful indicator that levels of certain toxins that are harmful to humans, known as glycoalkaloids, may be increased.