Why is spam popular in hawaii?

According to the SPAM website, the island's love affair with Spam began in World War II, when GIs were served the salty luncheon meat because it didn't require refrigeration and had a long shelf life. The Hormel Corporation,which manufactures Spam,provided 15 million cans to Allied troops every week

---

Spam is popular because it doesn’t require refrigeration and has a long shelf life.