What does the name dad mean?

Father' comes from the Proto-Indo-European “pəter” and Old English 'fæder,' meaning “he who begets a child,” reflecting the baby-talk sound “pa” as well as a phonetic shift from 'p' to 'f' in Middle English. However, 'dad' did not evolve from 'father. ' “It's from 'dada,'”