What was the first n. h. l. hockey team?

The Montreal Canadians were the first NHL team.

---

The Montreal Canadiens is the oldest team to join the NHL, in 1917, and were founded in 1909. The Canadiens is one of the oldest continuously existing sports franchises in the world, and also one of the most successful in all of sports.