How long does a hockey game take?

Taking into account all stoppages as well as the regulation time of 60 minutes, the average length of an NHL hockey game is two hours and twenty minutes. Many people think of hockey as a relatively fast-paced game, and while this is true there are an average of 81 stoppages in an NHL game.