Why do we decorate christmas trees for christmas?

We decorate Christmas trees because it identifies with the day that Jesus Christ was born. The ornaments represent the stars in the sky on Christmas night. It gets us in the holiday spirit when ornaments from Christmas pasts are placed on the tree.