When did the first mcdonald's restaurant open?

Brothers Maurice & Richard McDonald, started the first McDonald's restaurant in 1948, by converting their drive-through barbecue restaurant, into a burger & milkshake joint, in San Bernardino, California. In 1955 Ray Kroc bought franchising rights, incorporated McDonald's, & it's still growing .