What kind of meat is shawarma?

Shawarma is marinated with various seasonings and spices such as cumin, turmeric, and paprika. It is made by stacking thinly sliced meat, typically lamb, beef, or chicken, on a large rotating skewer or cone. It is also sometimes cooked with extra fat from the meat to give it a juicer taste.