What's the difference between malt vinegar and white vinegar?

White vinegar is colourless, simple, and easy to make, and is often the more affordable option. Malt vinegar is sweeter, milder on the palate, and less acidic than white vinegar. It has a more complex, nutty flavour and a warm caramel colour thanks to the fermented barley.