What's the white part of an orange?

Most people avoid the pith -- the stringy, spongy white part between the peel and the fruit -- because it tastes bitter. But the pith is full of calcium, fiber, vitamin C, and immune-boosting flavonoids. Throw the pith in a smoothie to hide the flavor but get all the benefits