How did marty lagina make his money?

According to celebrity net worth dot com, Before becoming a TV star, Marty was in natural gas and wind power extraction. His company Terra Energy was a pioneer in extracting natural gas from shale around the mid-west in the 1990s. Marty eventually sold Terra Energy to CMS Energy for $58 million.