What does it mean when a dog licks you?

When a dog licks you it's usually a sign of affection or a greeting. Sometimes a dog will lick you because of the salt on your skin from sweat.

---

A dog licking a person can mean affection, exploration of taste, communication, anxiety, or grooming. Excessive licking may indicate health problems or stress, and it is best to consult a veterinarian for proper evaluation.