What is the difference between alzheimer's and dementia?

Dementia is a general term, and Alzheimer's is a specific brain disease marked by symptoms of dementia that get worse over time. Alzheimer's disease first affects the part of the brain associated with learning, so early symptoms often include changes in memory, thinking and reasoning skills.