How many kingdoms are there in game of thrones?

After Aegon's Conquest, Westeros was divided up into 9 provinces that were each part of a greater realm: The North, the Vale of Arryn, the Iron Islands, the Riverlands, the Westerlands, the Stormlands, the Reach, the Crownlands and Dorne. It became the style to refer to it as the 7 Kingdoms