What was the battle of seven oaks?

The Battle of Seven Oaks took place on June 19, 1816 north of the forks of the Red and the Assiniboine Rivers. It was a violent encounter between a party of Métis led by Cuthbert Grant and a group of Hudson's Bay Company men and Selkirk settlers led by Governor Robert Semple.