Why did the united states go to war with korea?

The United Nations security council resolved to respond with force to an invasion of South Korea by North Korea. The Soviet Union did not support the resolution and as a full time member of the security council had the right to veto, but chose not to attend the vote. The u.s. helped the u.n.