Can plastic catch on fire?

Plastic is a term used to refer a variety of solid materials made up of long-chain hyrocarbons. Some plastics will burn at lower ignition points than others. As stored combustible energy sources, most plastics will catch fire if given the right mix of heat and available oxygen.