Do dryers eat socks?

If the lint screen at the bottom of the door is missing or damaged, socks or other small items can find their way into the dryer's exhaust pipe. It's also possible for socks to get stuck underneath a top-loader's agitator during the wash. You might also have dropped a sock behind the washer or dryer