Who discovered canada?

Jacques Cartier From 1534 to 1542, Jacques Cartier crossed the Atlantic three times, claiming land for the King of France, François I. Cartier hears two guides he has captured pronounce the Iroquois word kanata, which means "village". As early as the 1550s, the name Canada appeared on maps.